Shopping Cart


Your shopping bag is empty

Go to the shop

Are Lentils Gluten-Free?


Are lentinls gluten-free?

Those who follow a gluten-free diet are faced with a constant battle in deciphering which ingredients may or may not contain gluten. Fortunately, at Lavida Food we make GF life easier by stocking only gluten-free products.

First things first, are lentils gluten-free? The answer is yes, lentils are naturally gluten-free. This includes Brown, Green Red & Yellow, Specialty, Black Beluga, and Puy Lentils.

Read on to take a deep dive into the world of gluten-free lentils and legumes and find a selection of our favourite gluten free bean-based recipe ideas and products.

Are Lentils Always Gluten-Free?

Even though lentils on their own are gluten-free, we would not recommend relying on this for all lentil dishes or products. There's always a risk of cross-contamination whenever you buy legumes in bulk or in a restaurant.

In the Celiac Disease Foundation's opinion, 'cross-contact' occurs when gluten-containing foods are prepared or manufactured while other food is being prepared or stored.

It is very important to check the packaging of the food you are using and read the ingredient list, as this will protect you from cross-contamination.

Whenever you are unsure about gluten foods, check the ingredient list and allergen warning. For foods that have been tested and certified by authorities, you'll see a "Gluten-Free" label on the packaging's front side. Food manufacturers have to pass strict tests to be able to include such a label, so you can be confident that these products are safe to consume.

Lentil-Based Gluten-Free Alternatives & Recipes

At Lavida Food, we are big fans of lentils, and lentil-based snacks are among some of our favourites! If you are looking for some nibbles then check out Le Pain Des Fleur lentil crisps - which are ideal on their own or with your favourite dip. These crisps contain 70% less fat than a classical potato crisp, contain no major allergens, and are a great source of fibre.

If you’re looking for something more filling, then you’ll find hundreds of amazing lentil-based recipes online - from beetroot & lentil tabbouleh, to beautiful side dishes like Olive Magazine’s roast broccoli with lentils and preserved lemon.

Health Benefits Of Lentils

In addition to their high fibre content, lentils are packed full of folate and potassium, making them a healthy choice for the heart, and lowering blood pressure and cholesterol. They also provide energy-boosting iron and vitamin B1, which is helpful in maintaining a steady heartbeat. Moreover, lentils help lower blood sugar levels and provide a great source of protein.

Other Gluten-Free Legumes

Lentils are a type of legume, but did you know there are about 16,000 types grown all over the world in different sizes, shapes, colours, and textures? Beans, peas, chickpeas, are all part of the legume family, but are all these foodstuffs safe for those on a gluten-free diet?

Are Beans Gluten-Free?

Bean lovers rejoice! There is no gluten in the natural form of any bean, including black beans, pinto beans, and garbanzo beans. It is nonetheless possible for bean products to contain gluten-containing additives or be cross-contaminated with gluten if mass-produced for the supermarket shelves.

Are Peas Gluten-Free?

Peas are also gluten-free. In fact, all green vegetables are safe to consume on a gluten-free diet. It is important to make sure that you are choosing fresh vegetables when you can. If you are buying tinned, canned, or frozen peas or vegetables then make sure to check the packaging for the GF label.

Are Chickpeas Gluten-Free?

You can probably spot the theme here...chickpeas are also gluten-free! In addition to being nutrient-dense legumes, chickpeas are high in protein, fibre, folate, iron, and phosphorus, making them a nutritious part of a healthy diet. Chickpeas can also be used to make flour, which is often referred to as ‘gram flour’.

Often used to make falafel, hummus, and flatbreads, gram flour is a staple in Middle Eastern and Indian cuisine. With its nutty flavour and grainy texture, this flour is packed with fibre and protein.

How To Integrate Gluten-Free Bean Products Into Your Diet With Lavida Food

At Lavida Food, we believe everyone should have the opportunity to enjoy food to the fullest, despite allergies and dietary restrictions.

In order to offer the UK market the best allergy-sensitive, healthy, and wholesome products without sacrificing quality, taste, or texture, we have conducted extensive research and travelled the globe to let you enjoy your favourite foods without fear.

Whether it is the lentil and chickpea crisps or amazing organic edamame fettuccine or spaghetti which makes for the perfect replacement pasta replacement - you’ll be sure to find plenty of legume-based GF products with Lavida. Why now have a browse and find your new favourite staples here.